Novus Initium

The title is Latin, and translated to English it means “New Beginning”. It is the most descriptive title I could think of to describe what is happening. I will now explain better what is to come. 

4 months ago I was told that my apartment will need to undergo a big renovation. The floor will need to be rebuilt together with the bathroom. All this is due to Coal Tar Creosote they have discovered under the three sets of floorboards. There is also some moisture damage from the water outside reaching the inner wall structures. All this needs to be fixed, and that will take about 6 months or so. In the mean while, my insurance company refused to pay compensation for substitute housing.

At the same time an opportunity within my company presented it self. I could leave the company with an exit-package equivalent to 6 months salary. And since I´ve felt the need to do a some kind of a career change for a while now, I decided to go ahead and accept the exit package. My officially last day of work will be 20.2.2013, though I´ve been already relieved form the obligation to work. This helps me to arrange many of my affairs during the days. 

So when all this is happening at the same time, I feel I have been quite clearly been shown the new path of my life. I have decided to move away from Finland, and start to contribute towards a better world for the future generations. This is why I´m now selling all my possessions, leaving me only with what I take with me in my backpack. All the wake-up lights, candle holders, multi-system remote controllers, knives and forks, everything has to go. I´ve managed to sell the bigger ones, helping to finance this project more and the rest will be picked up by the recycling people sometime next week.

I´ve also been accepted to work for 8 weeks as a long-term volunteer in a Sea Turtle conservation project run by an Italian NGO called Naucrates in Thailand. This assignment will start 25.2.2013. 

I have my one-way flight leaving for this on 22.2.2013 at 8:15 in the morning. So that leaves me now with less than 2 weeks to get everything sorted out and in order. I already know I will miss my parents, my nephew and my niece, friends, colleagues, choir mates, everyone. Today the finality of all this what is to happen has struck me big time after visiting my relatives in Lahti. It now feels hard to leave, but I know all will be ok eventually. And I don´t have to see anymore snow, can´t wait for that🙂

If you made it this far, thank you for your time. This post is the first among many during my journey. I will post about the project, my thoughts, pictures, videos etc. I´ve also created another page on this blog, called “food for thought”. In that page I will post articles, links, thoughts, pictures, anything I believe will help people to understand the world we live in. Please have a look, I guarantee you´ll learn something new. 

I will write most of the posts in English, since everyone can understand it. You can also use the Google Translator (Google Kääntäjä) to have the text translated. But be prepared, that will be more fun than correct most of the time. 

Until next time,

-Arto

About lifemeetsreality

It´s me. Unique. Nothing more. Nothing less.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Novus Initium

  1. Love Andrei says:

    big plans🙂 good luck!

  2. Jossu says:

    Have an unforgettable journey Arto, you are in my heart❤

  3. Mira says:

    Wishing you all the best in this new adventure you are embarking on!🙂

  4. Torsten says:

    Amazing, my friend!🙂

Leave a Reply

